Sioux Lookout Area Aboriginal Management Board

Site: SLAAMB

Service: Skills and Employment Training Strategy

Description & Services
Public Comments Project Officers: 
  • Ziggy Beardy, email: zbeardy@slaamb.on.ca 
  • Roy Anderson, email: randerson@slaamb.on.ca 
  • Jim Beardy, email: jbeardy@slaamb.on.ca
 
Also serves the following organizations in Sioux Lookout: 
  • Nishnawbe-Gamik Friendship Centre 
  • Independent First Nations Alliance 
  • Shibogama First Nations Council 
  • Windigo First Nations Council 
  • Tikinagan Child and Family Services 
  • Equay-Wuk Women's Group 
  • Northern Chiefs Council 
  • Northern Nishnawbe Education Council 
  • Wawatay News
Description (Agency) Assists Aboriginal people prepare for and find high-demand jobs quickly, as well as keep them in the long term
Description (Service)
  • Assists Aboriginal people prepare for and find high-demand jobs quickly, as well as keep them in the long term 
  • Fosters partnerships with the private sector and the provinces and territories 
  • Supports demand-driven skills development
 
Programs and services include: 
  • Skills development 
  • Training for high-demand jobs 
  • Job finding 
  • Programs for youth 
  • Programs for urban and Indigenous people with disabilities 
  • Access to child care
Hours Mon-Fri 8:30 am-4:30 pm
Areas Served Bearskin Lake First Nation ; Cat Lake First Nation ; Deer Lake First Nation ; Fort Severn First Nation ; Kasabonika Lake First Nation ; Keewaywin First Nation ; Kingfisher Lake First Nation ; Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug First Nation ; Koocheching First Nation ; McDowell Lake First Nation ; Migisi Sahgaigan First Nation - Eagle Lake ; Mishkeegogamang First Nation ; Muskrat Dam First Nation ; North Caribou First Nation ; North Spirit Lake First Nation ; Ojibway Nation of Saugeen First Nation ; Pikangikum First Nation ; Poplar Hill First Nation ; Sachigo Lake First Nation ; Sandy Lake First Nation ; Sioux Lookout ; Slate Falls First Nation ; Wabigoon Lake First Nation ; Wapekeka First Nation ; Wawakapewin First Nation ; Wunnumin Lake First Nation
Eligibility First Nation members
Application Call for information
Languages English
Fees None
Contact Information
Office Phone 807-737-4047
Toll Free Phone 1-800-563-2183
Fax 807-737-4048
Website www.slaamb.on.ca
Primary Contact Crystal Spencer, Receptionist and Secretary; Email: cspencer@slaamb.on.ca
Alternate Contact Jemima Chapman, Finance Clerk; Email: jchapman@slaamb.on.ca
Primary Executive Mary Tait, SLAAMB Coordinator; Email: mtait@slammb.on.ca
Alternate Executive Genny Kakekaspan, Finance Officer; Email: gkakekaspan@slaamb.on.ca
Located In Community Sioux Lookout
Address 80 Front St
Sioux Lookout, ON P8T 1A1
 
View Google Map
Intersection Front St and 5th Ave
Mailing Address PO Box 56 
Sioux Lookout, ON P8T 1A1
Physical Access Not Accessible
Other Details
Legal Status (50) Non Profit
Funding Federal - Human Resources and Skills Development Canada